SPC Poetry Book Contest

The Sacramento Poetry Center Press Presents its Annual Poetry Book Contest

2009 Winner: Richard Spilman           2009 Judge: Dennis Schmitz

2010 Winner: Melissa Morphew          2010 Judge: Indigo Moor

2011 Winner: Michelle Bitting              2011 Judge: SPC Staff

2012 Winner: Alejandro Escudé           2012 Judge: SPC Staff

2012 Winner: Jed Myers                         2013 Judge: SPC Staff

 The Sacramento Poetry Center Annual Poetry Book Contest is Temporarily Suspended

Winning book manuscript will be published by The Sacramento Poetry Center Press.


  • Submit 48-70 numbered pages of original poetry in any style.
  • Manuscript must contain 2 title pages: Name and contact information (including email address, if possible) should appear on first title page only. Name should not appear anywhere else.
  • Manuscript should be typed, single-spaced, paginated, and bound with a clip.
  • The Sacramento Poetry Center will consider publishing additional manuscripts from the contest.
  • Check for $20.00 US per entry (multiple entries OK) should be made out to The Sacramento Poetry Center. Paid-up members of the Sacramento Poetry Center may enter the contest for a reduced fee of $15.
  • Please note that members of SPC will not receive preferential treatment in the judging process.
  • Include a table of contents page and an acknowledgments page for magazine or anthology publications.
  • Will read entries postmarked between January 1, 2013 and May 10, 2013.
  • Enclose an SASE for announcement of the winner.

Entries should be mailed to:

The Sacramento Poetry Center
Poetry Book Contest
P.O. Box 160406,
Sacramento, CA 95816